James Barrett, PhD, Chair

Dr. Barrett joined New Enterprise Associates (NEA) in 2001 as a general partner. Specializing in biotechnology, he works with members of NEA’s healthcare investment group on medical devices, healthcare information systems, and healthcare service companies. Prior to joining NEA, Jim served as founder, Chairman, and CEO of Sensors for Medicine and Science where he remains Chairman. In addition to Galera Therapeutics, Jim currently serves on the boards of several other biotech/pharma companies.

Thomas Dyrberg, MD, DMSc

Dr. Dyrberg is Managing Partner at Novo A/S. He is a member of the Boards of Directors of Delenex Therapeutics AG, Nuvelution Pharma, Inc., Ophthotech Corporation, PanOptica Inc., and Veloxis Pharmaceuticals A/S. Dr. Dyrberg held research positions at the Hagedorn Research Institute, Denmark, and at the Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA. In 1990, he joined Novo Nordisk A/S, initially working in health care discovery on various aspects of diabetes immunology and pathogenesis, and from 1996 in health care clinical drug development. Dr. Dryberg attended the University of Copenhagen, where he obtained an MD degree and a DMSc degree.

Campbell Murray, MD

Dr. Murray is a Managing Director for the Novartis Venture Funds in Cambridge, MA, USA. Prior to joining the fund, he worked at the Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research as the Director of Special Projects and as a physician in Auckland, New Zealand. Campbell is a New Zealand trained physician, Kauffman Fellow, and holds an MBA from Harvard Business School and an MPP (public policy) from the John F. Kennedy School of Government, where he was a Knox Fellow and Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar. Campbell serves on the boards of Aerpio Therapeutics, Alios BioPharma, Annexon, BioNano Genomics, Galera Therapeutics, ImaginAb, and Neurovance.

Mike Powell, PhD

Dr. Powell joined Sofinnova in 1997 and SVP X is his seventh Sofinnova fund. He has 32 years of experience, including 15 years of R&D before entering the venture community. Dr. Powell has been involved in more than 50 clinical programs and is the author of 90 publications and books, including a 1,000-page treatise on vaccine design. Before joining Sofinnova, he was Group Leader of drug delivery at Genentech, as well as Director of Product Development at Cytel. Before this he was Senior Scientist and Project Team Leader at Syntex Research. Dr. Powell received his PhD in Physical Chemistry from the University of Toronto and carried out postdoctoral studies in Bioorganic Chemistry at the University of California as a National Science and Engineering Research Council Scholar.

Henry Skinner, PhD

Dr. Skinner is a Managing Director for the Novartis Venture Funds in Cambridge, MA, USA. Prior to the Novartis Venture Funds, he worked as Executive Director and Global Head Strategic Alliances, Therapeutics and Head Strategic Alliances, Technologies at the Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research, where he led a team responsible for identification, negotiation and management of collaborations and licenses for Novartis’ therapeutic areas as well as the technology areas. Prior to joining Novartis, he was CEO of SelectX Pharmaceuticals and President and CEO of NeoGenesis Pharmaceuticals, which was acquired by Schering-Plough. He was also Director of Technology Acquisitions for Pharmacia & Upjohn and Pharmacia, managing business development and licensing for Pharmacia’s research platforms and therapeutic areas worldwide, and Director of Business Development at Lexicon Genetics. He was a postdoctoral fellow at Baylor College of Medicine in the department of Human and Molecular Genetics and earned his PhD in microbiology and MS in biochemistry from the University of Illinois. Henry serves on the board of Avila, and works with Cylene, Forma, and Merus.

Frank Torti, MD

Dr. Torti joined NEA in 2007 and focuses on investments in biopharmaceuticals, medical devices, and healthcare services. He has been actively involved in the firm’s private and public investments in healthcare, including Peplin (acquired by LEO Pharma), CITIC Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Shanghai Pharmaceuticals), Alimera Sciences, Cadence Pharmaceuticals, Dermira, Galera Therapeutics, Neotract, Novast Pharmaceuticals, Rigel Pharmaceuticals, and Solta Medical. Dr. Torti received his MD from the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, his MBA with distinction from Harvard Business School, and his BA with highest honors from the University of North Carolina, where he was a Morehead Scholar.

Mel Sorensen, MD

Dr. Sorensen is President and Chief Executive Officer of Galera Therapeutics. Dr. Sorensen is a Medical Oncologist who has spent 7-8 years each in patient care (including his oncology fellowship at the Mayo Clinic), in academia (at the National Institutes of Health), in leadership positions in clinical development in the pharmaceutical industry (GlaxoSmithKline and Bayer), and as President & CEO of private venture-funded biotechs, including Ascenta Therapeutics and Galera Therapeutics. He also serves as Chairman of other biotech companies, including OncoFusion Therapeutics. At Ascenta, Dr. Sorensen raised approximately $100 million in private financing and venture debt and secured global and regional deals for its three programs. Operationally, in about five years, Ascenta advanced two unrelated preclinical programs into broad clinical testing, managed multiple clinical trials, and developed an R&D presence in China. Dr. Sorensen is an advisor to the Biomarkers Consortium of the National Institutes of Health.

Robert A. Beardsley, PhD

Dr. Beardsley is a founder and Chief Operating Officer of Galera Therapeutics. Prior to Galera, he served as CEO at Metabolic Solutions Development Corporation and Kereos, as acting CEO at Metaphore Pharmaceuticals, and in a variety of roles at Confluence Life Sciences, SImile Investors, bioStrategies Group, and Vector Securities International. In addition, Dr. Beardsley served on the boards of a number of other public and private life science firms, including Collagenex Pharmaceuticals, BioSeek, and KemPharm. He has an MBA in finance from the University of Chicago and a PhD in biochemical engineering from the University of Iowa.